FORUM PROFILE

Renewals / Modificaitons

Tagged: 

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    shea930

We recently had a Safety & Soundness exam with the FDIC and they suggested that we start doing Renewals instead of treating everything like a Refinance. I have no experience with a true renewal we have always just treat everything as a refinance to be on the conservative side of compliance. None of my contacts that I’ve reached out to really do a true renewal either. I’ve tried reaching out to the FDIC for a little guidance but haven’t heard back from them. I just need to bounce what I’ve researched off of someone else to see if I’m understanding correctly and heading in the right direction. The last thing I want to do is create a compliance problem. If you guys can help or if anyone in the Compliance masters group would be willing to talk with me….either way would be fantastic.

From what I’ve researched a renewal and modification are very similar. Basically what I was finding is we can really get away with doing quite a bit as long as we never met what Reg Z considers a “Refinance” which is the below two items:
    (1) Changing from fixed to variable rate;
    (2) Totally replacing 1 note with another.